ClimateXChange is run day-to-day by our three directors

Dave Reay

Director, Policy, and Chair of the Directorate
Email Dave Website
Dave is responsible for the daily running of CXC. He is the key contact for Scottish Government and based at Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation. He is Chair in Carbon Management & Education at University of Edinburgh.

Pete Smith

Director, Science
Pete is the director who oversees the quality of all our research outputs. He has a background in soil science and is currently Chair in Plant & Soil Science at Aberdeen University.

Deb Roberts

Director, SEFARI Institutes
Deb is Director of Science at the James Hutton Institute and CXC Director responsible for the significant part of our work that is done through the SEFARI Institutes.


The CXC Directorate has six further members representing the different interests amongst the member institutions. 

Stuart Galloway

Energy research representative
Stuart is the Professor of Compact Power Systems in the Institute for Energy and Environment at the University of Strathclyde. He oversees our work on 'smart energy' and data analytics.

Rebekka Artz

Hutton Institute CXC Manager
Rebekka is CXC Manager at the James Hutton Institute. As a Senior Research Scientist in the Ecological Sciences Group her main interest is in peatland ecosystems and restoration.

Andrew Barnes

Scotland’s Rural College CXC Manager
Andrew oversees the use of our resources through SRUC, mainly relating to land use and agriculture. He is Professor of Rural Resourse Economics and Leader in Innovation and Behavioural Change.

Christopher Ellis

Adaptation research representative
Chris manages our climate change adaptation work through the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh, where he is Head of Cryptogamic Botany. He is also the link for other adaptation projects on the Directorate.

Bruce Nicoll

Forest Research CXC Manager
Bruce leads the work of the Forest Research’s Climate Change Science Group, and has responsibility for delivering Forest Research projects under CXC.

Mark Winskel

Energy research representative
Mark oversees our work on energy policy and energy systems analysis. He is Chancellor’s Research Fellow on Energy Innovation and Senior Lecturer at the University of Edinburgh.


Together with our Directors the Secretariat actively manage all CXC projects, supporting our researchers at every step of the process.

Dan Barlow

Programme Manager
Email Dan
Dan manages the ClimateXChange secretariat, and is the link between demand for analysis and research from policy teams and public agencies, and the supply from our researchers. He also manages our commissioning budget.

Sarah Govan

Project Manager (Climate and land use)
Email Sarah
Sarah manages all our land use, agriculture and forestry research projects. She has a background from Scottish Government and works closely with both their analytical services and policy development.

Anne Marte Bergseng

Knowledge Exchange Manager
Email Anne Marte
Anne Marte manages the work we do on behaviour change and adapting to the impacts of climate change. She is also responsible for communications such as our website and newsletter, and making CXC a more effective knowledge exchange organisation.

Lee Callaghan

Project Co-ordinator
Email Lee
Lee keeps track of all our projects, finances and whereabouts. She also manages procurement and our events.

Virginia Marsh

Communications Officer
Email Virginia
Virginia helps edit research reports, our newsletter and monthly updates on climate change around the world. She also supports the team on other aspects of communications such as the website, annual report and documenting our processes.

Declan Finney

Project Manager (Climate and energy )
Email Declan
Declan manages projects across energy, transport, and the built environment. He has a background in climate research and has also worked for the Scottish Parliament Information Centre (SPICe).